The Rathbones Folio Sessions are dynamic literary events – panel discussions, readings, in-conversations and performances – featuring members of the international, multidisciplinary and cross-generational Folio Academy. 

Rathbones Folio Sessions also take place in the lead up to the announcement of the Rathbones Folio Prize winner, featuring writers shortlisted for each year’s prize.

Rathbones Folio Prize Sessions 2020:

How to Write a Book in your Lunch-hour

Following on from 2019’s inaugural ‘How to Write a book in a Day’ sessions, over 3 lunch hours, hear how some masters of their trade manage to translate what’s in their heads and hearts to the page.

‘Everyone has a book in them’, they say. But not everyone manages to write it.

Hosted by Kate Clanchy, celebrated teacher, prize winning poet and author of the recent bestseller “Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me’ and the forthcoming ‘How to Grow a Poem’ these 3 sessions will focus on poetry, fiction and non-fiction with one on one interviews with Raymond Antrobus, Kate Summerscale and Patrick Gale, followed by a q & a with the audience.

If you missed the Rathbones Folio Prize Sessions 2020, you can now watch them below.

Poetry with Raymond Antrobus

In 2019 Raymond Antrobus was named the Sunday Times/University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year and his debut collection The Perseverance won the Rathbones Folio Prize, the first time a poet has won this prestigious award. He was also the recipient of the Ted Hughes Award, a Somerset Maugham Award and Poetry Book Society choice. Born in Hackney in 1986, Antrobus still lives in London, where he works as a writer and teacher. He has led workshops in D/deaf schools across the country, as well as in prisons; and a local school in Hackney has recently named a new building after him.

Register by clicking here. 

Non-Fiction with Kate Summerscale

Kate Summerscale’s first book The Queen of Whale Cay was inspired by an obituary in the Daily Telegraph – it won the Somerset Maugham award and was shortlisted for the Whitbread (now Costa) biography award.
The Suspicions of Mr Whicher (2008) won the Samuel Johnson Award as well as 2 British Book Awards, was shortlisted for the Crime Writers Association Gold Digger and the Edgar Award for Best Factual Crime in the US.
Mrs Robinson’s Disgrace was a Sunday Times bestseller and her most recent book The Wicked Boy won the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award.
The Haunting of Alma Fielding will be published in October this year.

Register by clicking here. 

Fiction with Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale is the author of 16 novels including the Richard and Judy bestsellers Notes from an Exhibition and A Perfectly Good Man, the Costa nominated A Place Called Winter and his latest Take Nothing With You and the Emmy award-winning BBC drama Man in an Orange Shirt. He lives in Cornwall.

Register by clicking here.