Rathbones Folio Prize 2020 Cycle

The Rathbones Folio Prize 2020 Judges

Paul Farley

Paul Farley (chair) was born in Liverpool and studied at the Chelsea School of Art. He has published four collections of poetry, and also written non-fiction books, including Edgelands (with Michael Symmons Roberts), as well as editing a selection of John Clare’s poetry. A Fellow of the Royal Soci- ety of Literature and a frequent broadcaster, he has received numerous awards, including Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year, the Whitbread Poetry Award and the E.M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters. His latest collection, The Mizzy, is published this year.

Nikita Lalwani

Nikita Lalwani was born in Rajasthan, India, and raised in Cardiff, Wales. Her first novel, Gifted, was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, shortlisted for the Costa Award and won the Desmond Elliot Prize (after which she donated her prize money to the human rights organisation, Liberty). Her next novel, The Village, was also widely acclaimed, and her new novel, You People, will be published by Viking Penguin in June 2020. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Ross Raisin

Ross Raisin was born in West Yorkshire. His first novel, God’s Own Country, was published in 2008 and was shortlisted for nine literary awards, including the Guardian First Book Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. In 2009 Ross Raisin was named the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year and in 2013 he was selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British writers. Two more celebrated novels,Waterline and A Natural, have followed. Ross is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

The Rathbones Folio Prize 2020 Shortlist

The 2020 Rathbones Folio Prize Shortlist will be released on 25 February 2020.

Prize Updates

Change in Timeline

The Rathbones Folio Prize will now take place towards the beginning of the year, ahead of both the Women’s Prize and the International Booker Prize: the shortlist will now be announced on 25th February 2020 (previously 4th April), the winner will be announced on 23rd March 2020 (previously 20th May).


The longlist will not be revealed in the 2020 Prize Cycle.