In the first year of the Folio Prize’s relaunch as the Rathbones Folio Prize – which is now no longer for fiction alone, but for the best work of literature, regardless of form, published in a given year – the three judges, Ahdaf Soueif (chair), Lucy Hughes-Hallett and Rachel Holmes, have chosen an exhilarating range of books, composed of four novels and four works of non-fiction, written by five women and four men, and published by eight different imprints. These eight finalists were chosen from a list of 62 titles, all of which were nominated by the Folio Academy. These titles are:

 The Vanishing Man by Laura Cumming (Chatto & Windus)

 The Return by Hisham Matar (Viking)

 This Census-Taker by China Miéville (Picador)

 The Sport of Kings by C. E. Morgan (4th Estate)

 The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson (Melville House)

 Golden Hill by Francis Spufford (Faber & Faber)

 Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien (Granta)

 Burning Country; Syrians in Revolution & War by Robin Yassin-Kassab & Leila Al-Shami (Pluto Press)

The winner will be announced on the 24th May at a ceremony in London.