Judges Announced for Inaugural Folio Prize 2014

line judges

The Folio Prize has announced the panel of judges for the inaugural prize.  Lavinia Greenlaw has been drawn as Chair of a jury comprising international writers Michael Chabon, Sarah Hall, Nam Le and Pankaj Mishra, all of whom are drawn from the Academy.

The judges will select a shortlist of eight titles which will be announced in February 2014, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony in London, March 2014.  It is the first major English-language book prize open to writers from all over the world.

The judges have been drawn by lot from The Folio Prize Academy, a unique body of highly respected, award-winning writers and critics from across the globe. Lots were drawn by members of The Folio Prize Foundation until the panel consisted of no more than 3 members of the same gender, with 3 judges from the UK and 2 from further afield.

The full press release can be read here.